After the five days of competition, Hong Kong claimed the Boy’s Team 2nd runner up and Girl’s Team 1st runner up of Bright Smart Securities 18th Asian Junior Squash Team Championships 2017.
The boy’s team final came before the girl’s, first seed India took on the defending champion Malaysia today to eye on reclaiming the title they lost in 2013 and 2015.
Velevan Senthikumar of India gave the advantage to his team with a straight win over Ong Sai Hung at 12-10, 11-0 and 11-2. The second seeds player, Abhay Singh recovered from two games down to clinch the triumph for India by beating Malaysian Darren Rahul in a tough five setter at 10-12, 7-11, 11-5, 14-12 and 11-6. Malaysia claimed the first runner whereas Hong Kong and Pakistan boy’s teams claimed the second runner-ups in the biennial Asian Championships.
The Girl’s team final was a repeat of 2015 between Hong Kong and Malaysia, Lui Hiu Lam was led in the first two sets by Sivasangari Subramaniam, through Hiu Lam edged in the third, the Malaysian is the better player on court this time to end in four games.
Cheng Nga Ching followed after to play against Andrea Lee, similar encounter as the first string, Nga Ching came back in the third from two games down however, the experienced Malaysian managed to win in four games and retain the title for Malaysia whereas Hong Kong claimed the 1st runner up.
The Prize Presentation Ceremony was held after all the matches finished, Mr. David Mui, MH, JP, the President of Asian Squash Federation and Chairman of Hong Kong Squash along with Mr. Edmond Hui, Chief Executive Officer, Bright Smart Securities, Mr. Yeung Tak Keung, JP, Commissioner for Sports, Home Affair Bureau, Mr. Kelvin Leung, Chief Leisure Manager (Sports Funding), Leisure and Cultural Services Department, Mr. Won-Kwan Kim, Vice President, Asian Squash Federation, Mr. Debendranath Sarangi, Vice President, Asian Squash Federation, Mr. Duncan Chiu, Secretary General, Asian Squash Federation and Mr. Cedric Tyen, Honorary Treasurer, Asian Squash Federation were invited to the grand ceremony and to present the prizes and to share the joy with all the winning teams.
Please click here for Draw and Results.